Arthur Petahtegoose of Atikameksheng Anishinawbek

Arthur Petahtegoose of Atikameksheng Anishinawbek receiving an Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Grand Council Chief Patrick Madahbee, and Deputy Grand Council Chief Glen Hare, on August 17, 2016.

SUDBURY—The Anishinabek Nation 7th Generation Charity (AN7GC) hosted the 18th Annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence, held on Atikameksheng Anishnawbek Territory at the United Steelworkers Hall in Sudbury, Ontario, on August 17, 2016.

Each year, the AN7GC coordinates this important event to honour, celebrate, and present Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards (ALAA) to outstanding Anishinabek citizens, nominated by another community member. People who have made a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life on First Nations through hard work and dedication, in the categories of Arts, Business, Culture, Education, Environment, Law/Justice, Political Leadership, Public Service, Communications, Sports, and Trades & Technology.

This year, over 180 people enjoyed a wonderful evening celebrating 14 proud Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. It takes all kinds of people; politicians, teachers, social workers, storytellers, fisherman, coaches, among others, to form a community that’s well-rounded, educated, healthy, and culturally enriched. Thinking in terms of the Medicine Wheel, different skills, talents, and passions fill the four quadrants, creating a perfect balance – Mino Bimaadiziwin. That is why it’s so important to recognize and celebrate the many unique contributions, the time that’s been invested, as well as the positive difference each recipient has made.

The evening consisted of a delightful dinner, entertainment by 21-year-old Jordan Mowat of Alderville First Nation, the recognition of the generosity of sponsors, jokes by Jason Restoule, AN7GC Manager and Emcee for the night and finally, the presentation of the prestigious Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Restoule says he loves this event. “I get excited for this event every year. It’s a great feel-good event and it’s inspiring. Although it is a fundraiser for our charity, the celebration of our outstanding Anishinaabe people is really what the evening is all about.”

This year’s award recipients included: Kathy MacLeod-Beaver (Alderville First Nation), the Late Edna Carolyn Nootchtai (Atikameksheng Anishnawbek), Cheryl Miller Martin (Atikameksheng Anishnawbek), Arthur Petahtegoose (Atikameksheng Anishnawbek), Joseph Nahwegahbow (Aundeck Omni Kaning), Rick Monague (Beausoleil First Nation), Tim Monague (Beausoleil First Nation), Adrianne Bressette (Chippewas of Kettle & Stony Point), Chief Thomas Bressette (Chippewas of Kettle & Stony Point), the Late Robert Restoule (Dokis First Nation), Victor Migwans (M’Chigeeng First Nation), Susan E. Commanda (Nipissing First Nation), Emma Meawasige (Serpent River First Nation), and Jerome Pakosigan (Whitefish River First Nation).

The Anishinabek Evening of Excellence would not be possible without the financial contributions of devoted and generous sponsors. Their contributions are truly the foundation of this event. Chi-Miigwetch to Scotiabank, Union Gas, Ontario Power Generation, Westmont Hospitality Group, Casino Rama Cares, Hydro One, Holiday Inn Sudbury, and Delta Sault Ste. Marie.

The AN7GC and staff are thrilled at the success of this year’s event, and are already looking forward to hosting the 19th Annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence in 2017!

For more photos of the 18th Annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence 2016 photos, visit their Facebook page.