Alvin Wolfe of Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point was one of 14 Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients on August 16 in Chippewas of Rama First Nation. Wolfe is a 25-year veteran of the Anishinabek Police Services and has received an Exemplary Service Diploma and medal. Wolfe also served Band Councillor in his community for six (6) years. Photo by Laura Barrios.

CHIPPEWAS OF RAMA FIRST NATION—On the evening of Wednesday, August 16, the Anishinabek Nation 7th Generation Charity (AN7GC) hosted the 19th annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence. The event took place on Chippewas of Rama First Nation Territory at Casino Rama.

Each year, the AN7GC coordinates this important event to honour, celebrate, and present Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards to outstanding Anishinabek citizens. Citizens who’ve made a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life on First Nations through hard work and dedication, in the categories of Arts, Business, Culture, Education, Environment, Law/Justice, Political Leadership, Public Service, Communications, Sports, and Trades & Technology.

In addition to honouring the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, the AN7GC presents scholarships to outstanding Anishinaabe post-secondary students. The Anishinabek Student Excellence Scholarship recognizes recipients for their post-secondary academic excellence.

Over 200 guests enjoyed a wonderful evening celebrating the four (4) student scholarship recipients, as well as 14 proud Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

This year’s Anishinabek Student Excellence Scholarship recipients included:

  • Bailey “Ziigwen” Mixemong, Beausoleil First Nation
  • Kieran Peltier, Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve
  • Miranda Plain, Aamjiwnaang First Nation
  • Tonya-Leah Watts, Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve

The 2017 Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients included:

  • Stanley Benoit, Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation
  • Irene Helen Castonguay, Whitefish River First Nation
  • The Late Marcia L. Cooper, Munsee-Delaware Nation
  • Judy Corbiere, Aundeck Omni Kaning
  • Sophie Corbiere, M’Chigeeng First Nation
  • The Late Dianna “Ruth” Couchie, Nipissing First Nation
  • Pamela Crowe, Alderville First Nation
  • The Late John M. Debassige, M’Chigeeng First Nation
  • James R. Marsden, Alderville First Nation
  • Esther Osche, Whitefish River First Nation
  • The Late Merle Pegahmagabow, Wasauksing First Nation
  • Georgina Recollet, Whitefish River First Nation
  • Murray Shawnoo Jr., Kettle & Stony Point First Nation
  • Alvin Wolfe, Kettle & Stony Point First Nation

In addition to the award presentations, the evening consisted of a delightful dinner and entertainment by 22-year-old Jordan Mowat of Alderville First Nation.

The Anishinabek Evening of Excellence would not be possible without the financial contributions of devoted and generous sponsors. Their contributions are truly the foundation of this event.

Chi-Miigwech to Scotiabank, Casino Rama Resort, Union Gas, Ontario Power Generation, Westmont Hospitality Group, Hydro One, Quattro Hotel Sault Ste. Marie, Holiday Inn Sudbury, and Delta Sault Ste. Marie.

The AN7GC is thrilled at the success of this year’s event and is already looking forward to hosting a very special 20th annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence in 2018!

To learn more about the Evening of Excellence, other Anishinabek Nation 7th Generation Charity events, or general information, please visit: